Treaty No. 5



Images courtesy of The Archives of Manitoba

Treaty No. 5 was negotiated and entered into by the largest number of First Nation communities within Manitoba at different locations and times. The first negotiation and concluding of Treaty No. 5 occurred at Berens River in 1875. Manitoba communities that share in the obligations and benefits of Treaty No. 5 include: The Pas, Wabowden, and Gypsumville.

The First Nation communities that entered into Treaty No. 5 include: Chemawawin, Berens River, Black River, Bloodvein, Cross Lake, Fisher River, Grand Rapids, Hollow Water, Kinonjeoshtegon, Little Black River, Mosakahiken, Norway House, Opaskwayak and Poplar River.

Download Text of Treaty No. 5 & Adhesions

Treaty text from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)