Treaty No. 2

Image courtesy of The Archives of Manitoba

Treaty No. 2 was negotiated and entered into in August 1871 at Manitoba House. A few of the Canadian communities that share in obligations and benefits of Treaty No. 2 include: Brandon, Dauphin, Melita, Minnedosa, Roblin, Virden and many more.

The First Nation communities that entered into Treaty No. 2 are: Dauphin River, Ebb & Flow, Keeseekoowenin, Lake St. Martin, Lake Manitoba, Little Saskatchewan, O-Chi-Chak-Ko-Sipi, Pinaymootang, and Skownan. Riding Mountain National Park and Duck Mountain Provincial Park are within the Treaty No. 2 area.

Download Text of Treaties No. 1 & 2

Treaty text from Aboriginal Affairs and Northern Development Canada (AANDC)